Posted by: slartibartifast | October 7, 2008

Politics 1A, part 3

     As I said for parts 1 and 2, I am not an expert in politics, specifically American politics; no degree in it, no experience in elected office, not even any relatives who are in it. But I have been paying attention for the last 4-5 years, at least more than most Americans can afford, to political events in this country; way more attention than I did in the previous 50 years of my prior life. And this summary is what I have come to believe:

    John McCain- back in the Republican primary season of 2000 I liked John McCain. If I had voted that year (I sat it out with a “none of the above” protest vote) I probably would have voted for him if he had survived the primaries, where Karl Rove, working for George Bush, slandered him so badly that he lost out to Shrub. Now, I’m retroactively embarrassed to admit that. McCain has sold out his principles and ethics more than any other politician I can remember in my lifetime. I’m embarrassed for him to see this kind of disgraceful behavior. He’s a whore of the worst kind; practically running around on hands and knees to kiss Pat Robertson’s ass during this year’s primary season, after calling Robertson an “agent of intolerance” in 2000. Now in the 2008 election he’s so out of ideas and tactics that he has nothing left but to pound that Fear Drum that the Republicans love so much. He’s turned into an ass clown. Sad.

     Sarah “Bible Spice” Palin– you gotta be kidding me! When I first heard of her nomination by McCain and did some research of her online I thought it was an April Fool’s joke. If the McCain campaign wasn’t seriously running her I would think this was hilarious. A woman who got a Broadcast Journalism degree (at FOUR colleges over SIX years). For those of you who don’t know, that degree is what she wanted so that she could become a Sports Caster!!!!! Her lofty goal was to work on ESPN!! For anybody who thinks she has the experience, credentials, talent, or temperament to be VP, much less President, I have only one question: What the fuck’s the matter with you? Get serious.

     Barack Obama– to be honest he wasn’t my first choice during the Democratic primaries; John Edwards was, with Dennis Kucinich my second choice. But Barack is doing OK with me now. I don’t agree with everything he says or does, but he’s a damn site better than the laughable McCain/Palin choice. I think he’s sincere in his desire to stand up for, and to change the political system for, the middle class. If he’s elected I’ll be tougher on him than any Republican would be to do what he said he’d do in office. To me that’s the biggest difference between Democrats and Republicans; Democrats don’t become delusional morons when their guy leaves the Right Path.

     Joe Biden– to be perfectly honest, I wish the ticket were reversed to a Biden/Obama ticket. Joe has tremendous experience and judgement from his years as a Senator. I respect him very much. It would also be four years to give Obama the right experience he needs to be an even better President in 2012, after Biden retired. Oh well.

     The Media– the funniest canard I’ve ever heard is the one of “The Liberal Media.” This is an invention of the Republican Propaganda Machine to sucker ignorant and emotional people into believing it. Try this simple test in your area: run down the dial of AM radio stations you can hear and compare how many stations carry crap like Rush Limbaugh, Sean Hannity, and Michael “Wiener” Savage as opposed to how many carry an Air American affiliate or even somebody like Ed Schultz. It’s typically about 2 or 3 to one (if you can even FIND an Air American affiliate or Ed Schultz in your area). Second test: watch virtually ANY TV news show or analysis show (like Meet the Press) and notice how many Republican or Conservative analysts they have on compared to Democratic or Progressive ones. It’s typically 2 or 3 or even 4 to one. Does this seem like a Liberal bias to you?? Not to me.

    Alternative sources of information– assuming that you’ve gotten this far into this many words, then you might be worthy to do some fairly easy online research into the facts rather than blindly believing stupid propaganda crap. If this is so then go to these sites for some additional enlightenment: FactCheck.org, MediaMatters for America, Snopes.com, BuzzFlash.com, and Truthout.org. You can also do the most basic education possible by using GOOGLE and just typing the words of anything you don’t understand, or would like to know more about, in the search field and then reading the results of the search hits. Use your head for something other than growing hair.

     Summary– I can’t put it any better than Jon Stewart did on The Daily Show about the way Barack Obama was being labeled as “elitist”: “I want the President to be an elitist. I want the President to be the smartest person in the country. Here is a job where, if you do it right, they carve your face into the side of a fucking mountain!” Well said.

Leave a Reply

Categories

