Posted by: slartibartifast | March 19, 2009

PSA info

    Hey over 50 dudes!

    First off the link: http://www.nytimes.com/2009/03/19/health/19cancer.html?partner=rss&emc=rss

     Pay special attention to the seventh paragraph.

    Then my experience: A little over 2 years ago I had a PSA test as part of a routine physical exam and my Primary Care doctor told me it “came back a little high.” Not scary high, but just a little out of the normal range. He recommended that I go to a Urologist to see about it. OK, I did.

     But first I did some reading online and found out that the PSA test is not very accurate or even useful. There are a high percentage of false positives and false negatives. Even IF the test results are right most Prostate cancers move very slowly, so that there is less of a chance of doing anything in a rush.

    The Urologist was DYING to “take me across the hall and needle biopsy it and then recommend treatment.” In a 5 minute conversation he must have said this exact sentence four times. His pushiness is what actually scared me off of having the biopsy (along with the idea of having a long needle shoved into my Naughty Bits area…brrrrrr!).

     I decided to just wait for 6 months and repeat the PSA test to see if it was a valid result. Well, I actually wound up waiting about 8 months because my mother got sick during the week I had scheduled to repeat the test and I had to fly back home to help out. When I repeated the test it was back in the normal range again, much to my relief.

     Moral of this story- this may apply to you and it may not. It did for me. It also proved one of my favorite adages to be valid here: you never ask a barber if you need a haircut. Do some research on your own before being stampeded into treatment that may, or may not, be necessary.

     At ease. Smoke ‘em if ya’ got ‘em. Over and out.

Leave a Reply

Categories

